What's new

Difficulty tiers for dungeon pvp

I will share an idea that may help complete beginners ease into ultima online, which is an immense, to its lovers irreplaceable, and to strangers often incomprehensible fantasy world.

All sports and most games, physical or digital have tiers to ensure equal competition between players. Football and basketball have tiered leagues, chess or go have handicaps, online games follow these examples to create equal competition, segregating their player base to different experience levels or equalize their power using additional measures.

However ultima online is an open sandbox which makes it really hard to take such measures. We often hear this argument after another newbie quits the game: "Well if he can't take that much, this was not the game for him". Yet we are not in our teens anymore, how many of you can get into a completely new and complicated game? We don't have the energy for that because of life, or we don't have the curiosity we once had. Many of us even find it hard to change their server, or client or even their playstyle. Why do we expect so much from beginners?

In my opinion one of the biggest reasons for loosing beginners is pking. When a new player gets killed in the first levels of a dungeon, trying to kill an easy monster, and having his hands full with keeping bandage up, checking his increasing skills or trying to arm his weapon after drinking his potion, some names appear and dump heavy hitting spells, an instant death.

However same pk goes down to level 3, and there he finds well armed and skillful players easily dodging his attacks, fighting back only when they want to, taking the nearest gate and escaping with 10k. I agree that dungeon pks are easy to dodge if you are experienced.

These were my reasons, and my suggestion is as follows: make dungeon levels different pvp tiers, and players have % pvp damage scalars much like pets depending on their current level.